A day of experimenting

I brought with me several old burn paintings to use as fodder for experiments.

I bought candles and matches and burned the edges of Lake Caroline Burn. Not too bad, though it does kind of remind me of the kind of corny pictures you’d see laminated onto a wood plaque in someone’s cabin.

I took one of the Davis Peak burn paintings and let a thin coat of gesso drip down it. I also took the Christmas tree cookie cutter to cut out a section, and then rehung it with the painting.

Finally, I tried drawing with a soldering iron. It really didn’t work on watercolor paper — you have to rest the iron too long in any given place to get a mark — but it kind of worked on rice paper. I tried gluing the results onto watercolor paper, but it still has lots of distracting bubbles and wrinkles. Very painstaking to handle. Maybe tomorrow I’ll come up with an answer.

I also have a drawing for a traditional landscape painting on my easel, with part of some peaks and a great swatch of the burned section near Vermillion Pass from 2003.

One comment on “A day of experimenting

  1. Pierre says:

    Fascinating experiments! It made me think about the Four Elements… in addition to depicting Fire with fire, one could also try representing Fire using earth, or using water. Using wind would be harder… I suspect you’re already working on this, given your comment about “philosophical and artistic contrasts” in the previous post.

    I heard a nice gloss of the four elements on a podcast yesterday. Rather than being elementary constituents in the modern sense, one can think of them as representing important material attributes: mass, cohesion, temperature and movement.

Leave a Reply

