The end of Part One

Tomorrow I go home for Thanksgiving, and I’m ready. I’m burned out on working in the studio almost all the time. The weather is changing, warming up to snow, no more spectacular distant views. Yesterday I walked up Tunnel Mountain behind the town.

I tried another soldering iron drawing using the bamboo & hemp sumi paper given to me by Japanese artist Kenji Fuji in the next studio. A little bit easier, but still very slow. The soldering iron isn’t really hot enough, so drawing is a jerky, meditative and mildly frustrating process. The sheet size made me think of the old stereoscopic scenic photos for tourists, appropriate for an old resort town like Banff. So I did two drawings of the same general scene — not only has the technology since changed, but the forests have, too. I like the spareness of the drawing; it’s amazing how much topography simple lines can imply. I call them What the Fire Wrote (top) and, with apologies to Robert Frost, Stopping in the Snowy (Former) Woods.

After the First Death is almost finished. I will never learn to stop when I should, it’s lost some of its freshness. But I am satisfied with its powerful impact, at double life-size. I’d like to see it hung on a semi-circular bas-relief-column.

[And I particularly enjoy the Fire Danger scale hanging in the hallway.]

2 comments on “The end of Part One

  1. […] made. While still at that Banff residency, and with some debt to Etsuko Ichikawa, this took me down the path of drawing with wood burning tools and soldering […]

  2. […] close-up of a single burned tree, strangely sculpted by fire at its base. I can imagine it facing After the First Deathin Imagine having the wall space to paint (2) 76 x 51-inch pieces side by […]

Leave a Reply

