Prep for a new experiment – combining watercolor and drawing with a woodburning iron

Today I continued to rework an older piece, Davis Peak Burn #7, shown below as the flat image with the Christmas tree cookie cutter hanging alongside it. I also took several more older small burn paintings and posed them rolled on the wall. I find this presentation compelling, invokes the abstract, idealized tree solid while still engaging the eye with the painting. To be sure, I have to come up with some superstructure to support them, I don’t intend to show them with rubber bands around them!

And I made quite a bit progress on a view of the Kootenays with the Vermillion Pass Burn in the foreground. Tomorrow I intend to use the woodburning tool to draw the snags and downed lumber in the foreground. It will be the first time I’ve tried to combine traditional watercolor painting with burn-drawing.

I walked up Tunnel Mountain again in an inch of new snow on ice in places. Thanks to my microspikes, it was a normal walk in the park. The peaks were in and out of clouds, and I was reminded how much I need to get outside every day.

Leave a Reply

