Group show

Today I worked on a final pyrography drawing and added it to the group show in the small gallery downstairs. Following Ila’s advice I left the flap of excess paper in the piece — now it’s an artist book ; – )

I’ve only really got one more work day left. At first I reached for a regular full watercolor sheet, but then I stopped. “What am I thinking?! This is my last opportunity to work big!” So I muscled a large piece of Arches watercolor paper off the roll. It fights back ; – ) but I devised a complicated set of weights and clips to hold it in place. The drawing of a burned, downed log receding into near space looks like a crucifixion. Maybe this is not such a bad metaphor.

One comment on “Group show

  1. […] after an exit interview, the afternoon opening of our group show (see December 15), an artist talk by sound artist Gary James Joynes, and dinner with the family and remaining […]

Leave a Reply

