Tying up loose ends and looking forward

Tomorrow I will pick up Sunset Ranch (Large) from the framer and get it ready to ship to Zion National Park. It’s the work they chose to keep in partial fulfillment of my residency there. I painted it after I got home from a smaller version that I did in the Park.

It’s a good choice — vast like the vistas from the Kolob Terrace Road; it’s where I realized I could use a “live” or “shaped” edge on a landscape painting; and it depicts a parcel of land the Park acquired from a grandfathered in-holding while I was in residence. Feels good!

Last week I submitted my application for residencies on the North and South Rim of the Grand Canyon. Oh, how my fingers are crossed!

Suze Woolf painting of the Sunset Ranch area of Zion National Park

Sunset Ranch, watercolor on shaped paper, 11 x 30

 

Suze Woolf painting of Sunset Ranch area in Zion National Park

Sunset Ranch (Large), watercolor on shaped paper, 12 x 51.5

Leave a Reply

