Beginning my North Cascades National Park residency in Stehekin

Yesterday I left home at 3am. I wanted to have plenty of time to make the boat to tiny Stehekin to take up the temporary position of Artist-in-Residence at the North Cascades National Park. The boat leaves at 8:30 am from 50 miles down Lake Chelan. There are no roads into the ~80-person town. You can hike 20 or so miles, fly in a small plane, or take the boat, as most people do. I had 260 lbs of baggage: two boxes of clothes, two boxes of art supplies, two large portfolios, a large and small backpack and four boxes of food. Guess what’s really important to me!

Image

Crammed full, ready to go.

 

Image

Lady of the Lake II makes a four-hour trip up to Stehekin.

 

My housing is seasonal employee housing and a good ways from “town,” that is, where the boat landing/visitor center/convenience store are.  Today I hiked part way towards Purple Pass. I saw no one, and the trail was soft and beautifully graded. The miles and feet of elevation flew by in cool weather.  But it was not easy to ride the 4.5 miles back to employee housing on a heavy-duty mountain bike!

I couldn’t resist the tipped-up perspective of the enormous local relief looking down the lake towards Lucerne and Holden.

Looking down-lake from Purple Pass trail, 11 x 7.5 inches

Looking down-lake from Purple Pass trail, 11 x 7.5 inches

I remain enthralled by burned-over areas. This one burned in 2006. While most of the standing dead timber has thick charred bark, there were some fantastical forms and still-iridescent fire-scarring. I took many photos for future studio projects.

3 comments on “Beginning my North Cascades National Park residency in Stehekin

  1. I spent a summer in Stehekin and it’s very conducive to painting!

  2. Margarite says:

    Lovely. And nice way to stay in touch.

  3. Anita Peñuelas says:

    I enjoy hearing about your art adventures and seeing your latest pieces. You continue to produce amazing art!

Leave a Reply

