Stehekin Farewell – almost

Two full days left. I will hate to leave. The weather has turned for the better, at least for the next few days; the autumn color is at its peak. My paintings are getting better (I think): less precious and tight, looser and more inspired.

Suze Woolf watercolor painting of the old Stehekin schoolhouse

The old Stehekin Schoolhouse is on the register of National Historic Places. (watercolor on paper 15″ x 11″)

While they will grow somewhat in the next two days, here are some descriptive stats for the last 25 days:

-26 completed paintings (two were 51” individual large burned trees, see my website for examples)
-10 drawings still to paint
-19 journal pages
-2,047 blogged words (including these but excluding photo captions)
-597 photos (yes I have backed up my computer to an external hard drive!)
-143 trail miles on foot (there were 6 days where I did no walking at all)
-28,800 feet of elevation gain
-178 hours painting, hiking to painting locations or delivering programs
-6 dinners residents invited me home for
-Countless waves on the road

Suze Woolf watercolor painting of fireweed

Fireweed in the Rainbow Bridge fire site (watercolor on paper, 11″ x 15″)

(Yes, I am a little compulsive…)

One comment on “Stehekin Farewell – almost

  1. Arlene Tuttle says:

    Wow Suze! I LOVE these paintings. I’m delighted you had such a rewarding time, but I’m sure the townspeople think they got the best of the exchange! Safe smooth travels back to Seattle. I know how happy your family will be to have you back. Take care.

Leave a Reply

