Cane Springs

October 11

I head out for my first hike, the canyon behind the ranch house where its water seeps out of a spring several miles away. It’s always amazing to me how new ideas reach me while I’m walking. Usually it takes days of travelling on foot – just how is it my brain is so connected to my metatarsals ; – ) I spend the late afternoon painting on the porch, first the rift in the plain of sagebrush that hints of the great canyon to the south and west, and the Vermilion Cliffs to the north.

The Grand Canyon in the distance from Kane Ranch porch

The Grand Canyon in the distance from Kane Ranch porch

Vermilion Cliffs from the Kane Ranch porch

Vermilion Cliffs from the Kane Ranch porch

 

Leave a Reply

