Suze’s Art News January 2024

Apologies for a lack of communication in the last few years, there have been so many challenges. But I am so excited about several upcoming items I had to share them!

The World Forestry Center in Portland, Oregon is hosting an exhibit of my large fabric tree installation, “State of the Forest” as well as another suspended fabric piece “Core Values.” (See What’s Inside Our Museum – World Forestry Center.) The opening is January 31, 5-7:30 pm and I will be there in person. The exhibit runs from then to the end of April, and I’ll be back to give a tour-talk for the Wildfire Preparedness weekend of April 27-28.

Image above:State of the Forest” Installation Photograph, Environmental Impact II, Produced by David J. Wagner, L.L.C. (Photo Courtesy of The James Museum, St. Petersburg, FL)

Image above from Olympic National Park’s glacier memorial site: Terminus: Bretherton Snowfield by Suze Woolf.

I could not have completed this project without the help of Arisa Brown who dyed and quilted the sediment cores (middle) and Janet Stone who wove the ice cores (left), not to mention the many scientists, artists and others who gave me input.

Image above: The Magnitude of the Problem, varnished watercolor on torn paper mounted on 7 panels, 21.5-feet long

I will also be part of Museum of Northwest Art’s Silva Cascadia exhibit Silva Cascadia — Museum of Northwest Art (monamuseum.org)  opening soon. There will be a panel discussion and reception at the opening February 3, 3-5pm that I will attend. I’ll also be back April 20 for a 1 pm talk Carbon Flows with my wise and accomplished forestry expert, Dr. David L. Peterson. (La Conner, Washington)

There are several other events I’m delighted to be part of: Studio 103’s collaboration with civic poet Shun Yu Pai for “Art in A Poem”. I plan to attend the reception there on January 20. (Seattle, Washington)

Gallery 110’s February annual competition includes one of my burned tree portraits, see Upcoming Exhibitions. (Seattle, Washington)

Port Angeles Fine Arts Center has a book arts show on collaborations with 3 of my pieces: Strong Together- An Artist Book Collaborative, February 9 through May. (Port Angeles, Washington)

The Center for Urban Horticulture’s also has a Puget Sound Book Artists exhibit for the month of January, see Elisabeth C. Miller Library. The weather-postponed reception will be January 20 at noon. (Seattle, Washington)

There are a number of in-person openings I’m going to miss in February, but I’ve got a good reason: I will be artist-in-residence in the remote high-elevation Great Basin National Park in Nevada (brr!). I’m hoping my backcountry skills will allow me to visit their ancient bristlecone pines.

If I don’t catch you in January, I shall hope to see you in March!

UPDATE:

Due to the January storms in Portland, the State of the Forest reception has been delayed until February 27, 2024, 5:00 – 7:30pm. I still plan to attend; the World Forestry Center asks for RSVPs, see https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSf0Nai2inTlgLQmCB4IsiXSH1rXIZwblSavp1TccZzGEaseOA/viewform. Here is their new invitation:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.